PROVIDER FILE · The briefing room

Hello Alpha Review: What the $79 Weight-Loss Membership Commits You To

Hello Alpha documents an online GLP-1 program, but its membership payment, prescription decisions, insurance assistance and refund rules are separate parts of the arrangement.

The central contract question at Hello Alpha is not simply whether the service offers GLP-1 medications. It does advertise them. The more consequential question is what happens after you pay for access but before you know whether a clinician will prescribe, insurance will cover the medication or a pharmacy will fill it at an acceptable price. Its public documentation separates these decisions, while placing important limits on refunds when the medication or coverage outcome is disappointing.

Hello Alpha directs weight-management patients to Alpha Plus+, advertised at $79 per month with four online visits monthly. That is a membership price, not a documented all-inclusive medication price. This review examines the public pages consulted October 19, 2026, focusing on enrollment, recurring charges, cancellation, clinical responsibility and fulfillment. The documentation offers useful specifics, but leaves several practical questions unresolved—including the cancellation cutoff, medication costs and how a narrow pre-acceptance refund provision interacts with nonrefundable membership fees.

At a glance

Weight-management membership
The weight-loss enrollment process specifies Alpha Plus+: $79 per month with four online visits monthly, rather than the $29 Basic plan.
Sources: [7] [9]
Renewal and cancellation
Memberships are billed month to month. Patients may request cancellation at any time, but membership fees are described as nonrefundable.
Sources: [7]
Insurance split
Hello Alpha does not accept insurance for membership or medical fees; some pharmacies may accept insurance for medication.
Sources: [7]
No prescription guarantee
Membership does not guarantee a prescription, and the weight-loss page excludes a Plus+ refund after certain prior-authorization failures following a submitted weight-loss visit.
Sources: [7] [9]
Who provides care
Hello Alpha identifies itself as a technology company; medical care is delivered through affiliated practices depending on patient location.
Sources: [8] [5]

Start with the purchase, not the medication list

Hello Alpha’s weight-loss page tells prospective patients to create an account and obtain Alpha Plus+. The membership page prices that plan at $79 per month, with four online visits monthly and care for 100 conditions, including weight loss, diabetes, mental health, menopause, fertility and hormone health. The advertised $2.63 daily figure is another presentation of that monthly plan—not a separate daily payment option or a medication price.

Basic is advertised at $29 per month, with two online visits monthly and 80 conditions. Although extracted plan text also mentions weight-related services, the specific weight-loss enrollment instructions require Plus+. That makes $29 an unsuitable headline price for this program. Neither the four-visit allowance nor the monthly billing interval establishes a quantity of medication, a prescription duration or an entitlement to a particular drug.

The common membership benefits include provider messaging, health-progress tracking tools and free medication shipping. Those benefits should not be read as free medication or necessarily free testing. The consulted documentation does not establish a complete monthly total covering prescriptions, laboratory services and outside care. Before enrolling, use a written quote checklist to distinguish the recurring membership charge from pharmacy costs and any separately billed services.

Which payment or service boundary applies?
ItemDocumented termWhat remains to confirm
Alpha Plus+$79 per month; four online visits monthlyWhat counts as a visit and whether unused visits carry over
Basic$29 per month; two online visits monthlyNot the plan specified by weight-loss enrollment
MedicationSeparate insurance or cash-pay pathwaysExact product price, quantity and pharmacy charges
CancellationRequest cancellation at any timeProcedure, effective date and next-charge cutoff
TestingAt-home kits are offeredWhether a needed kit or outside test costs extra
Sources: [7] [9]

Recurring access has narrower refund protection than some patients may expect

The membership explanation calls both plans flexible and billed month to month. It says patients may request cancellation at any time, then states that membership fees are nonrefundable. This documents recurring monthly billing rather than an advertised multi-month prepaid package. It does not, however, explain when a cancellation request takes effect, how to submit it or how close to renewal a patient can act without another charge.

The terms contain a different, narrower refund provision. If a provider decides before accepting the consultation that telehealth is inappropriate or the applicant is ineligible, the applicant will not become that provider’s patient and will be refunded. Once the provider accepts the consultation, payment for the consultation and resulting services is nonrefundable. The public wording does not clearly reconcile that provision with the membership-level nonrefundability rule or identify every payment covered by the exception.

For weight management, another explicit exclusion matters: after submitting a weight-loss visit, a denied prior authorization—or the team’s inability to process one because requirements are unmet—does not qualify the patient for a Plus+ fee refund. Cancellation therefore should not be treated as reimbursement for an unsuccessful coverage attempt. Reviewing refund boundaries is useful here: ask which payment might be returned, under which event, and obtain the answer before submitting a visit.

Sources: [7] [9] [8]

Insurance assistance is not a promise of affordable medication

Hello Alpha does not accept insurance for its medical or membership fees, although some pharmacies may accept a patient’s health insurance for prescriptions. Its weight-loss page says coverage depends on the medication, condition and plan requirements. Even an approved claim may leave a copay, and copays can differ between pharmacies. Thus, joining the service and securing medication coverage are separate financial decisions; paying the first membership charge does not settle the second.

There are two especially important restrictions. Hello Alpha says Medicare, Medicaid and other state- or federally funded plans cannot be used for prescriptions written by its providers; cash payment is an option only if the patient’s plan permits it. Separately, for people without type 2 diabetes, the service will not assist with prior authorization for diabetes medications used off-label for obesity, naming Ozempic, Mounjaro, Rybelsus, Trulicity and Victoza.

The catalog labels several medications FSA/HSA eligible, but the homepage uses qualified language: prescriptions generally can be paid through those accounts, and an HSA may also be usable for membership. These are not blanket tax or reimbursement guarantees. The practical task is to confirm the exact medication, indication, pharmacy and benefit rules before relying on coverage. Our guide to insurance acceptance and exclusions explains why accepting a payment method and obtaining coverage are different questions.

Sources: [7] [9] [6]

Enrollment leads to clinical review, not automatic prescribing

Consultation enrollment requires a date of birth, contact information, location, credit card information, medical history and identity verification. After completing intake, agreeing to telehealth consent and paying, the patient is assigned a provider who reviews the information and may ask further questions. Hello Alpha expressly says membership does not guarantee a prescription: clinicians prescribe according to clinical guidelines. The payment therefore purchases access to an evaluation process, not a predetermined medication decision.

The membership page describes weight-loss services as available to adults 18 and older, subject to state law. Broader documents differ: general consent contemplates some minors at least 13 with required parental consent, while the terms require adulthood. Those broader provisions do not establish adolescent weight-management access. Patients must also be physically in the United States; that restriction does not confirm availability in every state or for every consultation format.

The weight-loss page lists pregnancy or nursing, type 1 diabetes and a history of anorexia or bulimia among reasons not to participate. It also publishes the ambiguous phrase “BMI under 25-27,” with an exception for a weight-related condition. That wording cannot support a single numerical admission rule. Although Hello Alpha specializes in women’s health, it says it can treat men and people assigned male at birth for most conditions; individual program access still requires confirmation.

Sources: [8] [7] [9] [3]

The catalog is specific, but availability is not a prescription commitment

Hello Alpha advertises an online program combining GLP-1 medications, nutrition and medical care. Its catalog lists Foundayo, identified as an orforglipron pill; Wegovy semaglutide in pill and pen presentations; and Ozempic semaglutide pens. The page labels these options as having supply available, with insurance or cash payment and FSA/HSA eligibility. These are provider-published catalog statements, not independent confirmation of stock, product approval status or a patient’s ability to obtain coverage.

The tirzepatide listings distinguish channels and presentations. Zepbound vials are advertised through LillyDirect, cash pay only, while Zepbound and Mounjaro pens are listed with insurance or cash-pay options. Other possible prescriptions include metformin tablets, injectable Saxenda, Trulicity and Victoza, bupropion, orlistat, naltrexone-bupropion and Rybelsus semaglutide tablets. Hello Alpha also states that it cannot prescribe controlled substances. No medication-specific price, dispensed quantity or supply duration is established in the consulted material.

The weight-loss page says it prescribes only FDA-approved medications, but general consent allows a provider to offer or recommend a compounded medication in some circumstances. That broader consent does not document a compounded GLP-1 offering. FDA approval applies to individual products, not Hello Alpha. FDA says compounded preparations are not approved and recommends them when an individual’s needs cannot be met by an approved drug; nonapproval alone does not establish clinical inequivalence.

Sources: [9] [3] [1]

Responsibility is divided between the platform and medical practices

Hello Alpha, Inc. describes itself as a technology company connecting patients with licensed healthcare providers through affiliated medical practices, rather than the entity practicing medicine. Its privacy policy assigns medical care, depending on location, to Hello Alpha Telemedicine, PA, or affiliated California, Alaska, Kansas and New Jersey entities. This distinction matters when asking who controls the clinical decision, who holds the treatment relationship and where a patient should direct a care-related concern.

The company advertises a team of board-certified professionals, listing MDs, DOs, nurse practitioners and physician assistants. That is a provider claim, not an independent credential check, and not every clinician is a physician. The California consent also allows physicians in their final residency year who are not yet board certified. Before relying on the broad marketing description, a patient can ask for the assigned clinician’s profession and credentials and the name of the responsible practice.

Continuity is described as usual rather than guaranteed: subsequent visits generally return to the same provider. If that person is unavailable, patients may wait or consult another provider licensed in their state. Hello Alpha also offers at-home testing kits and help locating affordable in-person options when needed, without establishing that those outside services are included. A responsibility map for platform, clinician and pharmacy can help keep clinical questions separate from billing and dispensing issues.

Sources: [8] [5] [4] [3] [10]

Around-the-clock messaging does not mean an immediate reply

The service says the process can be completed on its website without downloading an app, scheduling an appointment or going to an office. Its explanation of asynchronous care is more precise than the “24/7 messaging” benefit: a patient can initiate a visit at any time, but a provider reviews it when available. It expressly distinguishes that process from real-time messaging with a provider or support representative. No specific initial-review or reply deadline is established.

The terms allow asynchronous or synchronous communication depending on the patient’s state and condition, and say patients may request real-time communication. That is not a universal promise of immediate video or telephone access. Existing patients are directed to the care team through the patient portal for the fastest response, again without a stated turnaround guarantee. The terms limit the service to nonurgent care; an open message channel should not be mistaken for emergency coverage.

Language access is another enrollment issue. The consent says Hello Alpha does not provide translation services. It permits translation by someone close to the patient during calls, while reserving the ability to cancel if translation is ineffective. The consulted documentation does not establish Spanish-language clinical availability. Anyone needing language support should clarify the workable arrangement before paying, particularly because effective communication affects both the evaluation and understanding of ongoing treatment instructions.

Sources: [7] [10] [8] [2] [3]

Pharmacy fulfillment creates another set of commitments

Hello Alpha says patients can choose free home shipping or have a prescription sent to a nearby pharmacy for pickup. That general choice should be read alongside product-specific restrictions, notably the LillyDirect route advertised for Zepbound vials. Apart from that channel, the consulted pages do not identify the dispensing pharmacies. They also do not establish dispatch or arrival deadlines, refrigeration procedures, loss-replacement terms or an assured delivery date.

The website separately advertises automatic prescription refills that can be canceled at any time. It does not specify their billing interval, charges or cancellation procedure in the consulted wording. Patients should therefore clarify whether canceling membership also stops an already authorized refill, and whether a pharmacy order requires separate action. These are unresolved coordination questions, not documented promises that either cancellation will automatically terminate the other arrangement.

Before the first pharmacy order, obtain the product, presentation, price, supply quantity and fulfillment contact in writing, along with what happens if an order is delayed or damaged. For injectable GLP-1 medication arriving warm or inadequately refrigerated, FDA explicitly advises not using it and contacting the provider or dispensing pharmacy. The general offer of free shipping does not answer that problem, and Hello Alpha’s public documentation does not establish a specific replacement policy.

Sources: [9] [7] [10] [1]

Questions & answers

Is the $79 Plus+ charge the total cost of Hello Alpha weight-loss care?

No all-inclusive total is documented. The $79 monthly price covers the advertised Plus+ membership with four online visits. Medication may involve a separate cash price or insurance copay, and the pages do not establish whether needed testing or outside services are included. The $29 Basic plan is not the plan specified by the weight-loss enrollment instructions.

Sources: [7] [9] [10]
Can I get my membership fee back if insurance denies medication?

The weight-loss page says no Plus+ fee refund is available after a submitted weight-loss visit when prior authorization is denied or the team cannot process it because requirements are unmet. General terms separately describe a refund when a provider finds telehealth inappropriate or the applicant ineligible before accepting the consultation. Confirm which payment that exception covers.

Sources: [9] [8]
How do I stop the next monthly charge?

Hello Alpha says memberships are billed month to month and patients may request cancellation at any time. The consulted documentation does not specify the method, effective date or renewal cutoff. Ask for those details and written confirmation. Also check prescription auto-refill status separately: the site says refills can be canceled, but does not explain how that interacts with membership cancellation.

Sources: [7] [10]
Will Hello Alpha help obtain Ozempic coverage without type 2 diabetes?

Its published policy says it cannot assist with prior authorization for diabetes medicines used off-label for obesity when the patient does not have type 2 diabetes. Ozempic is among the named examples, alongside Mounjaro, Rybelsus, Trulicity and Victoza. A medication’s presence in the catalog therefore should not be read as a promise of authorization assistance or insurance coverage.

Sources: [9]
Does Hello Alpha offer compounded GLP-1 medication?

The consulted pages do not establish a compounded GLP-1 offering. The weight-loss page says only FDA-approved medications are prescribed, while the broader consent permits compounded medication in some circumstances without naming a GLP-1 preparation. Ask about the exact product if one is proposed; the general consent is not enough to identify a specific formulation or pharmacy.

Sources: [9] [3]
Can I expect live care whenever I send a message?

No. Hello Alpha explains that asynchronous visits are reviewed when a provider is available and do not involve real-time messaging. Its terms allow synchronous communication depending on state and condition, including a patient request. Existing patients are directed to the portal for the fastest response, but no specific response deadline is documented. This is a nonurgent service.

Sources: [10] [8] [2]

Our assessment

Hello Alpha documents a recognizable service: monthly access to online care, a defined Plus+ visit allowance, multiple prescription options and explicit limits on insurance assistance. Its strongest contractual disclosures make clear that paying does not guarantee a prescription, coverage or a refund after certain authorization failures. The weaker points are operational: cancellation timing, refill coordination, total medication costs, pharmacy identities and fulfillment remedies remain insufficiently specified. Before enrolling, obtain written answers about the next renewal, the applicable refund exception and the expected pharmacy expense. The service should be evaluated as paid access to clinical assessment and follow-up—not as a $79 medication package or a promise of a particular treatment outcome.

Sources & documentation

Public materials consulted October 19, 2026. Provider statements are attributed claims, not independently verified clinical outcomes. Terms can change; obtain a current written quote.

  1. FDA concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss ↗
  2. Hello Alpha — servicedesk/customer/portals ↗
  3. Hello Alpha — terms/consent ↗
  4. Hello Alpha — all conditions ↗
  5. Hello Alpha — terms/privacy ↗
  6. Hello Alpha — official website ↗
  7. Hello Alpha — membership ↗
  8. Hello Alpha — terms ↗
  9. Hello Alpha — weight loss ↗
  10. Hello Alpha — how it works ↗

Continue reading